Kickass Couture Accessories

GiGi’s Cupcakes .. round two

So today while out running around I was thinking it had been a while since I’ve tried GiGi’s Cupcakes. In all fairness I like to keep giving everyone a fair shot at the best cupcake in Nashville, TN.

As you all know, I believe there is an ass for every seat and I think cupcakes are the same…some you will like, some I will like…it’s just all opinions so please feel free to voice yours…and I am always open to trying new cupcakes so please keep me posted!

So I went in to the GiGi’s location music row and was greeted by some great people…I shared with them this was my 2nd visit to GiGi’s and I asked for coaching on picking 2 cupcakes. They were super sweet and I ended up with a Lemon Dream Supreme, and a Midnight Magic with choc buttercream icing. They packed them up and I headed home.

4056948284_e58e32602a_b

This is what I found when I opened the box. It seems they are top heavy and took a spill…I had them so they wouldn’t move in the car…so I was less than excited.

As far as taste well….they were almost as bad as the Ivey Cupcakes – GiGi’s Cupcakes are runny, way too much too-sweet frosting. The cake portion was dense but gummy and the Lemon Dream Supreme had a chemical-like aftertaste. The Midnight Magic choc buttercream icing was like eating straight sugar…there seems to be a HUGE difference in what people call “buttercream icing”.

So Naticakes is still the champ for BEST CUPCAKE Nashville, TN and surrounding with the best service with a smile. This looks as slick as the Ivey Cakes - What is that?

5 responses

  1. Erika

    I can’t agree more! I have never tasted a better cupcake than Naticakes!!!! So yummy and for a great cause.

    October 30, 2009 at 6:09 pm

  2. Thanks for commenting Erika…I have yet to find a better cupcake anywhere. Yes, thank you for bringing up Naticakes mission http://www.naticakes.com/mission.html – and the Naticlub http://www.naticakes.com/naticlub.html – love it!

    October 30, 2009 at 6:18 pm

  3. Brittany

    I completely agree! I’ve tried all three and Naticakes rocks all day! GiGi’s and Ivey cake are just not impressive at all, so you can imagine how delighted I was when I discovered how delicious and just plain GOOD Naticakes were. I’m sure it’s because they don’t cut corners and use the best ingredients in the first place. That always equals a winning product!

    November 2, 2009 at 6:28 pm

  4. Sarah

    I’ve had more cupcakes than anyone wants to imagine…I am determined to try one at every cupcake place in any city in which I travel to (which my job is traveling, so there are a lot of cities and a lot of cupcakes). Naticakes is o.k. if you like whip cream icing. It’s light, but not real icing. Their cake is good-very spongey. Ivey cake has hands down the best icing anywhere. It follows the traditional cream cheese icing with a kick and the cake is always moist. If you haven’t tried the “gold-digger” then you are truly missing out. Gigi’s is hit or miss…their icing is creamier, but the cake is sometimes dry. I could name a place or two in New Orleans, Memphis, Jacksonville, St. Paul, Atlanta…but keeping true to Nashville, will stop there. I, like the writer of this blog, like to give places more than one shot and will continue to try out the same places as well as new, hoping for the same great experience or a better one next time.

    April 2, 2010 at 9:48 pm

  5. Haybay1216

    Have you tried “the cupcake collection” in Germantown? Oh. My. Gosh. The BEST!

    October 22, 2010 at 7:23 pm

Leave a Reply

